Home – A Film by Yann Arthus-Bertrand

30Apr09
We all know him. Yann Arthus-Bertrand, the photographer who pictured the world from above. He took more than 500 000 photographs and in 1991 his work was first published in a so called book, which is since then translated in 24 languages. Now ‚The Earth from Above‘ becomes a movie:

HOME

„I´ve been nurturing for more than 15 years. What I saw and learnt as I flew over the Earth has changed me forever. Today I want to share what I´ve sensed throughout these journeys.“ (Yann Arthus-Bertrand)

And he is going to share. With all of us! On June 5th 2009 – the World Environment Day – the documantary will be released. You can watch the film all over the world in cinemas, on YouTube or on the official Website and also in some capitals like Paris, New York and Mexico City as an Open-Air-Event. He wants to reach as many people as possible to inspire closer attention to the world around us.

Here is a small foretaste:

I think, it´s a wonderful idea! In the first place, it is a passionate environment-plea. Secondly the way of representation this documentary is unique as it touched the current general discussion of copyrights and free availability of information and knowledge.
2 Responses to “Home – A Film by Yann Arthus-Bertrand”

  1. 1 Natazzz

    Ehm. I’ve never heard of the guy nor is it the kind of movie I get excited about. It all looks very pretty though.

  2. 2 sealegs

    I am sure that you have seen some of his photographs already. For me it is not only the prettiness, in which the Earth is been showed, even though it is the reason why I like nature films. It is also the critical view in the film. They also bring up destroying pictures to show the damage of the ecosystem. Apart from that the producers wave their copy rights because they want to reach as many people as possible and to spread the important topic in every direction. I like the idea a lot.


Kommentar verfassen

